top of page

"African" American


During my exchange to the USA in January 2016, we learned about the history of the USA and race relations from the times of Columbus to present day - we spoke about topics like slavery, segregation and racial oppression. I felt an overwhelming sense of white guilt over the actions of white people from generations past, irrational as some might think those feelings were. Feeling and exploring that guilt was a really emotional and valuable experience in understanding white privilege.

That being said, we had a lecture on one of the days by an African American professor and I asked him why black Americans are called "African" Americans. His answer was because it represents the connection of people to Africa. I told him that by that definition, I am "African" American. He was not amused.

He told me that he, who can trace his family back to generations of people born in the USA, has more of a connection to Africa than I do. He then went on to say that in fact I am not African, I am European. Arguing that Africa is the cradle of humankind and therefore every person alive is African didn't do much to further my case.

As someone who was born in Africa, who loves Africa, who is passionate about my beautiful continent and it's future, who is proud to be from Africa, I was really upset by this notion.

This got me thinking about what it actually means to be an African.

Being African is not about the colour of your skin. It is not about where your ancestors were from. In some ways, it may not even be about where you were born. Being African is your African identity, your African culture, your African experiences and your understanding of Africa. It is a way of thinking, a way of doing and a way of living. Being African is about where you consider home and where your heart lives.

I do not want to offend anyone, but I reject the use of the term "African" to describe anyone whose only "connection" to Africa is the amount of melanin in their skin. I reject the use of the term "European" to describe me merely because I have pale skin. In fact, I reject labels based on the absurd social construct of race based on skin colour. We are all one race, the human race.

My heart will never leave Africa. Africa is my home. I am an African.


bottom of page