top of page

Happy Africa Day


On my way to an Africa Day event I stopped a woman to ask for directions. She offered to walk me to the event as it was on her way and we got to talking. She was on her way to a job interview, her 4th this week, and she told me how she had been looking for a job since graduating from TUT last year.

You always hear how university graduates in South Africa are struggling to find jobs, but it has always been a foreign concept to me. Someone like me, who spends my days on a university campus surrounded by students who are excited and eager for a future beyond their degree.

As I sit here, I wonder what the future of those students will look like in South Africa. Is their hard work all in vain?

This Africa Day, I sit here with a mixture of worry and excitement. Worry over the current leadership of our country and continent. And excitement because those students back on campus, around South Africa and across our beautiful continent are working hard to be better, to do more. They are the leaders of tomorrow.

So I say, watch out world, because our generation of leaders is coming!


bottom of page