top of page

If You're From Africa, Why Are You White?


I found this diary entry from my time in the USA in January 2016, thought I would share it with you.

"Today I spent the afternoon at the Malone Community Centre spending time with kids in an after school programme.

When I told some of the kids I was from Africa I got mixed reactions. Some kids would laugh and say "No you're not". Some would just stare at me. Some asked why I was white. Others asked if I was born in America.

I had prepared myself for these questions but I never expected the way they would make me feel. I have never been so aware of my "whiteness" and I never thought my race would make me a curiosity.

I have to keep reminding myself that there isn't something wrong with being white and from Africa and that this is a great opportunity to help people understand Africa a little better.

It is interesting that it took coming to America, a country that acts like an example when it comes to race relations, to become so aware of race and the perceptions of race. The other day I was even asked "What are you doing with all those black folk" when I was walking on campus with the rest of the exchange students from Africa."


bottom of page